The NRCME Training Institute
Cart 0

Emergency Medical Technician - (EMT)

Emergency Medical Technicians and paramedics who respond to emergencies, from someone who may be having a heart attack in her home to multi-vehicle accidents on the highway. EMTs are most frequently found in ambulances but some may provide care for patients being transported by air as well.

Can an Emergency Medical Technician become a certified Medical Examiner with the DOT?

To be listed as a certified Medical Examiner with the DOT/FMCSA NRCME program, an Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) must be licensed, certified, or registered in accordance with applicable state laws and regulations to perform physical examinations.

Please see the table below for an Emergency Medical Technician's eligibility in the state they are licensed to practice in to become a certified Medical Examiner with the DOT as of January 2020:

 Eligible = Eligible Not Eligible = Not Eligible Possible Eligibility = Possible Eligibility (see below)
Alabama - Not Eligible Montana  - Not Eligible
Alaska - Not Eligible Nebraska - Not Eligible
Arizona - Not Eligible Nevada - Not Eligible
Arkansas - Not Eligible New Hampshire - Not Eligible
California - Not Eligible New Jersey - Not Eligible
Colorado - Not Eligible New Mexico - Not Eligible
Connecticut - Not Eligible New York - Not Eligible
Delaware - Not Eligible North Carolina - Not Eligible
District of Columbia - Not Eligible North Dakota - Not Eligible
Florida - Not Eligible Ohio - Not Eligible
Georgia - Not Eligible Oklahoma - Not Eligible
Hawaii - Not Eligible Oregon - Not Eligible
Idaho - Not Eligible Pennsylvania - Not Eligible
Illinois - Not Eligible Puerto Rico - Not Eligible
Indiana - Not Eligible Rhode Island - Not Eligible
Iowa - Not Eligible South Carolina - Not Eligible
Kansas - Not Eligible South Dakota - Not Eligible
Kentucky - Not Eligible Tennessee - Not Eligible
Louisiana - Not Eligible Texas - Not Eligible
Maine - Not Eligible Utah - Not Eligible
Maryland - Not Eligible Vermont - Not Eligible
Massachusetts - Not Eligible Virginia - Not Eligible
Michigan - Not Eligible Washington - Not Eligible
Minnesota - Not Eligible West Virginia - Not Eligible
Mississippi - Not Eligible Wisconsin - Not Eligible
Missouri - Not Eligible Wyoming - Not Eligible

 Possible Eligibility = The FMCSA has not received verification from your state licensing board that the DOT exam is within the scope of practice for your profession. You may proceed with registration, but the FMCSA must receive verification from your state licensing board before certifying you. We recommend that you delay your certification test until the state licensing board has confirmed that the DOT exam is within your scope of practice.

If you have any questions or need further information on this process, please contact the FMCSA Help Desk at (recommended) or call (617) 494-3003.