The NRCME Training Institute
Cart 0

FMCSA Establishes National Training Standards for New Truck and Bus Drivers

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) announced December 7, 2016, a Final Rule establishing comprehensive national minimum training standards for entry-level commercial truck and bus operators seeking to obtain a commercial driver’s license (CDL). Under the Final Rule, applicants seeking a CDL would be required to demonstrate proficiency in knowledge training and behind-the-wheel training on a driving range and on public roads, with training obtained from an instructional program that meets FMCSA standards. Mandatory, comprehensive training in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and all U.S. territories would apply to the following individuals under the Final Rule: First-time CDL applicants, including “Class A” and “Class B” CDLs. The entry-level driver training Final Rule goes into effect February 6, 2017, with a compliance date of February 2020.
To learn more about this Final Rule, visit

Older Post Newer Post

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published