To search for content, click on the magnifying glass icon at the top of each page.

Physical Qualifications, Examinations and Limited Exemptions

The following links offer quick access to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations that are relevant to physical qualifications, examinations and limited exemptions for CDL operators:

Physical Qualifications and Examinations

  1. Physical qualifications for drivers - States which drivers must carry a medical certificate, and sets out the physical qualification standards.
  2. Medical examination; certificate of physical examination - States who may conduct examinations, which forms must be used to record results, how long to retain forms, and when to report to FMCSA.
  3. Persons who must be medically examined and certified - States who must be examined by a certified medical examiner listed on the National Registry.
  4. Physical qualification standards for an individual with diabetes mellitus treated with insulin for control - Provides the requirements for drivers with diabetes mellitus who are treated with insulin for control.
  5. Resolution of conflicts of medical evaluation - Provides the requirements to apply for resolution of a conflict between a driver’s and motor carrier’s medical examiners.
  6. Alternative physical qualification standards for the loss or impairment of limbs - Provides the requirements for drivers seeking a Skill Performance Evaluation (SPE) Certificate, and that drivers with an SPE Certificate may be medically qualified.

Limited Exemptions

  1. Limited exemptions for intra-city zone drivers - Provides the requirements for drivers to be exempted from the age restriction and certain physical standards.
  2. Grandfathering for certain drivers participating in vision the waiver study program - Provides the requirements for being exempted from the vision standard through prior participation in a certain waiver study program.

For more information regarding these regulations, please contact the DOT directly at (recommended) or by telephone at (617) 494-3003.

Enroll in the NRCME Training Institute today or purchase our $99 NRCME Exam Reference Materials. Call us at (941) 600-8411 for more program information and for any current single provider enrollment discounts.

Back to blog

10-Year Recertification Notice

Certified Medical Examiners on the National Registry are required to be recertified no sooner than 9 years and no later than 10 years from the date of issuance of their medical examiner certification credential. Recertification requires that providers complete an accredited training program such as ours and pass the in-person national NRCME certification examination.

Call (941) 600-8411 for a single-provider discount.