To search for content, click on the magnifying glass icon at the top of each page.

Testing Options: PSI or Prometric?

The only testing companies that can offer the in-person DOT/FMCSA NRCME national exam are PSI and Prometric. While both testing companies offer the same $80 exam, there is a difference between the two and that is that PSI will only allow a provider to sit for the national exam with a Certificate of Completion that is no more than one year from the date of issuance, while Prometric will allow a certificate to be no more than three years from the date of issuance, with three years being the time frame set by the FMCSA. Providers who want to sit for the exam with a certificate that is more than three years old must contact the DOT/FMCSA directly for assistance.

Schedule the in-person $80 NRCME exam with either a PSI or Prometric testing company using the 10-digit National Registry certification number issued to you by the DOT. To locate testing centers near you, visit Google Maps and search for “PSI Testing” or “Prometric Testing”. Most testing centers are open six days a week.

Medical providers who do not pass their NRCME national exam no longer have to wait 30 days to reschedule. This applies to both initial certification and 10-year recertification. As soon as the FMCSA receives the failing notice from the testing company, they will update the provider's FMCSA account, a process that may take up to 7 days. Once the update is complete, the provider can promptly reschedule their next exam. For more information, please contact the FMCSA directly at or by phone at (617) 494-3003.

Other blog entries of interest:
About the NRCME Exam
NRCME Exam Testing in Hawaii
NRCME 10-Year Recertification
Scheduling Your Recertification Exam
A Tale of Recertification

Enroll in the NRCME Training Institute today or purchase our $99 NRCME Exam Reference Materials. Call us at (941) 600-8411 for more program information and for any current single provider enrollment discounts.

Back to blog

10-Year Recertification Notice

Certified Medical Examiners on the National Registry are required to be recertified no sooner than 9 years and no later than 10 years from the date of issuance of their medical examiner certification credential. Recertification requires that providers complete an accredited training program such as ours and pass the in-person national NRCME certification examination.

Call (941) 600-8411 for a single-provider discount.